Skip to Main Content

Biology G9: Organism Influences on Ecosystems

Criterion D

G9 Criterion D: Organism Impacts on Ecosystems
Summative Assessment
G9 Criterion D Checklist
G9 Criterion D Guide: How to Write a Scientific Essay

Databases to Use

Username & Password

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated November 2020)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Core Concepts: Biology This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Core Concepts: Periodic Table This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Scientific American This link opens in a new window

Scitable
Nature Education

Scientists Spotlight!

Charles Darwin
Charles Darwin
Victorian Web
Darwin and Natural Selection
Palomar College

Ecosystem Population

Sigmoid Curve
Carrying Capacity

Growth Curve
Environmental Encyclopedia
S-Shaped Growth Curve

Carrying Capacity
Britannica School
Carrying Capacity
Science Direct

Ecosystems

Energy Calculators
EIA Energy Kids
Energy Flow
Environmental Encyclopedia
Energy Flow
Environmental Encyclopedia. Science in Context
Flow of Energy
Britannica School
The Need for Energy
Core Concepts Biology

Chemical Bond Energy Example
Hyperphysics
Chemical Energy
Britannica School
Chemical Energy
Solar Schools
Enthalpy
World of Chemistry. Science in Context

Biological Community
UXL Complete Life Science Resource. Science in Context
Biosphere
National Geographic
Biotic Community
Environmental Encyclopedia. Science in Context
Consumer
World of Biology. Science in Context
Food Chain
Britannica School
Food Chains & Food Webs
PowerKnowledge Life Science
Food Chains - Did You Know?
BrainPop
Food Web
National Geographic
Food Web and Food Chain
UXL Encyclopedia of Science. Science in Context
Understanding Ecosystems
Core Concepts Biology

Trophic Cascade
Britannica School
Trophic Level
Environmental Encyclopedia. Science in Context
Trophic Pyramid
Britannica School

Autotroph
Britannica School
Autotroph
National Geographic
Autotroph
UXL Science. Science in Context
Autotroph
UXL Science. Science in Context
Heterotroph
Britannica School
Producers
World of Biology. Science in Context

Carnivore
Britannica School
Carnivore
National Geographic
Carnivore
UXL Encyclopedia of Science. Science in Context
Carnivorous Plants
BrainPop
Herbivore
Britannica School
Herbivore
National Geographic
Herbivore
UXL Encyclopedia of Science. Science in Context
Omniviore
UXL Complete Life Science Resource. Science in Context
Omnivore
Britannica School
Omnivore
National Geographic
Predator-prey Interactions
Environmental Encyclopedia. Science in Context
Scavenger
National Geographic

image of comic

Human Impact on Ecosystems

"Report: Just 23% of Earth's Wilderness Remains"
Big Think
Biologists think 50% of Species Will be Facing Extinction by the End of the Century
The Guardian
Climate Science Special Report Fourth National Climate Assessment (NCA4), Volume I
U.S. Global Change Research Program. 2017
Deforestation
WWF
Deforestation: 11 Facts You Need to Know
Conservation.org
Environment in Multiple Crises - Report
BBC (2019)
Half of the Great Barrier Reef Is Dead
National Geographic
Human Impact on Ecosystems
NatureResearch
Human Impact on Ecosystems Review
Khan Academy
Rising Global Meat Consumption 'Will Devastate Environment'
The Guardian
Since 2016, Half of All Coral in the Great Barrier Reef Has Died
The Atlantic
A Student Guide to Global Climate Change: Effects on People and the Environment
Agriculture; Energy; Water Supplies; Health; Plants, Animals, & Ecosystems; Forests; Recreation; Coastal Areas

Organisms and their Environment

Ecology

A Biome =

Community Ecology
Science in Context
Ecology
Good overview, vocabulary to know. Science in Context
Ecology
Core Concepts: Biology
Ecology Basics
Nature’s Cycles
Earth’s Climate
Understanding Ecosystems
Animal Adaptation
Plant Adaptations
Water Ecosystems
Marine Vegetation
Human Impact on Ecosystems
Conservation
Ecology
Britannica School
What Does Ecology Have To Do With Me?
ESA (Ecological Society of America)

Levels of Biological Organization: organism, population, community, ecosystem, biome, biosphere

How Life Is Organized
Core Concepts: Biology
Levels of Organization in an Ecosystem
eSchool Today
Organizational Hierarchy - Biology
Easy to understand examples. Calif. State University Northridge.
Stability
Science in Context

Natural selection vs. Evolution

Evidence for Evolution
Texas Gateway
Evolution
Britannica School
Evolution
Science in Context
Evolution and Natural Selection Review
Khan Academy
Evolution Defined
Core Concepts: Biology
Frequently Asked Questions About Evolution
PBS
Mechanisms of Evolution Beyond Natural Selection
Texas Gateway
Misconceptions About Natural Selection
Understanding Evolution. UC Berkeley
Natural Selection
Britannica School
Natural Selection
Core Concepts: Biology
Selection
Science in Context

Biotic & Abiotic Factors (non-living: like weather & climate)

Abiotic/Biotic Environment
Science in Context
Abiotic and Biotic Factors
Texas Gateway. Review--video and practice
Biosphere: Introduction
Britannica School. Includes discussions of biotic and abiotic factors in a biosphere
Biotic and Abiotic Factors
Biology Dictionary
Biotic Factors
Science in Context

Major BIomes

Niche vs. Habitat

BBC Bite-Size Science: Food Chains & Food Webs
BBC Bitesize: BIomes
Nice interactive map and descriptions. Section of each biome focuses on the people who live there
Biome
Science in Context
Biomes of the World
Missouri Botanical Garden
DK Find Out: Food Chains
Habitat (Ecology)
Credo Reference
Habitats
A-Z Animals
Habitats and Niches
Core Concepts: Biology
National Geograpic: Types of Habitats
Niche
Britannica School
Understanding Ecosystems
Core Concepts: Biology
The World's Biomes
University of California, Museum of Paleontology
WorldBiomes.com
SciLinks, National Science Teachers Association.

Symbiosis: mutualism, commensalism, parasitism

Introduction to Symbiosis
Core Concepts: Biology
Symbiosis
Britannica School
Symbiosis
Credo Reference
Symbiosis
Science in Context
Symbiotic Fungi
Clark University
You Feed Me, I Feed You: Symbiosis
Dive & Discover, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Energy Flow: photosynthesis and cellular respiration

Cellular Respiration
Credo Reference
Cellular Respiration
Britannica School
Cellular Respiration: Introduction
Khan Academy
Energy Flow
Science in Context
Photosynthesis
Britannica School
Photosynthesis
Science in Context
Photosynthesis
Royal Society of Chemists
Plant Cells
Core Concepts: Biology
Topic Page: Photosynthesis
Credo Reference

Ecological Data

Energy Transfer; Pyramid of Biomass & Numbers

Biomass Basics
EIA Energy Kids. U.S. Energy Information Administration
Ecological Pyramids
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science. Science in Context
Energy Pyramid (Invasive Species)
BrainPop
Energy Pyramid: Language
BrainPop
Energy Pyramid: Quirky Stuff
BrainPop
Energy Transfers & Pyramids
Britannica School
Energy Transfers & Pyramids
Britannica School
A Hypothetical Biomass Pyramid
UC Santa Barbara
The Need for Energy
Core Concepts Biology
Trophic Pyramid
Britannica School
What is a Biomass Pyramid?
The Earth Project

Videos to Watch!

Environmental News

BBC: Science & Environment
Environmental News Network
Inside Climate News
Pulitzer Prize-winning, nonpartisan reporting on the biggest crisis facing our planet.
National Geographic: Environmental News
New Scientist: Earth
Science Daily: Environmental News