Skip to main content

Teacher Resources: Databases

Database subscriptions contains relevant sources for educators to make the most of what we have in our digital Library. Here are some of the databases with resources dedicated to teachers and librarians.

 
Blooms Literature: Find thousands of resources to support study of literature and film. This database includes books in whole or parts. Journals, videos, biographies, and criticisms. There is also a curriculum tools tab where students and educators can find resources for teaching and learning research skills which is one key element in the ATL skills.

 

Britannica School: Under the Educators tab, find resources that are tailored for the IB curriculum. You can also create your free account to browse lesson plans covering Science, History and geography, Arts, ESL/ELL, Physical education and Mathematics subject areas.

 

Credo Reference : This general database supports all of the subjects in our curriculum so this is a great way to start or support an inquiry. Use the mind map functionality embedded in this database to search for related contents and topics.

 

Core concepts Biology : Find resources such as curriculum correlations and promotional materials to lesson plans and reference guides and tools you need to support your students. Try this! page includes activities or experiments that brings real world biology concepts.

 

Core Concepts Chemistry : Find resources such as curriculum correlations and promotional materials to lesson plans and reference guides, videos and tools you need to support your students. Try this! page includes activities or experiments that brings real world chemistry concepts.

 

Gale Global Issues in Context : This database is great for information that connects us to relevant issues happening worldwide. Get support for your classroom in the Resource page  here, you can access resource guides, scavenger hunts, tutorials, webinars and research help.

 

Health Reference Center: This is a great source for information related to health sciences, biology, technology and social science. A curriculum tools tab is also available that provides support for students and educators on research.

 

History Reference center: Great source for history related topics. A reference shelf is organized to provide support for major curriculums content and relationship to search string in the database for effective searching.

 

JSTOR : This reference databases is a great source for Journals, Primary sources and Books. To make it more effective for your teaching, there's plenty of support provided for the different subjects areas though the JSTOR  libguides.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in context: Find resources for product  tutorials, recorded webinars, scavenger hunts, and resource guides. Tips for integrating the resources in flipped classrooms are also provided through videos.  Research toolkit with "how to" tip sheets and worksheets are also available to use for instruction with high School student academic papers.

 

Statista: Get the latest data on irelevant issues in various engaging formats such as charts and graphs, infographics, animated videos, ebooks and reports.

 

Teen Health and Wellness: Teen Health & Wellness offers an extensive array of resources under the site help menu. Resources from program ideas and promotional materials to curriculum correlations and training tools, you will find here all the tools you need to support your teen users. It also offers text-to-speech, Foreign language read aloud, text translation, and enhanced text visibility functionalities.