LibGuides: Country Studies & The United Nations: United Nations

Related Guide

UN Sustainable Development Goals: 17 Goals to Transform Our World
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 1016 views this year

Suggested Databases for Country Studies

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated November 2020)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

Database Searching Tips:

World Geography -- Find your country for statistics
Global Issues in Context -- Search "Population Issues" You can ALSO Search within page for your country

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window "...develops students' global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. On any given country, students can find information about the landforms and climate; natural resources and agriculture; environment; people; traditions and etiquette; food and holidays; national dress; art and landmarks; and government, politics, and economy; as well as its history and contemporary issues the country faces."
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
1500-1700 (Emergence of Modern Europe); 1500-1776 (The World Beyond Europe); 1700-1800 (The Age of Reason); 1776-1825 (A Time of Revolutions); 1776-1914 (Spheres of Influence); 1815-1914 (The Rise of Nationalism); 1800-1914 (The Rise of the Industrial Revolution); 1914-1945 (The World at War); 1945-1991 (The Cold War); 1991- Present (A New Millennium)
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window Free resource.The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Ballotpedia
You can search the Encyclopedia of American Politics at the top of the home page. Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. We are firmly committed to neutrality in our content. As a nonprofit, our mission is to educate. We're here for you when: You're considering a run for office; You're making decisions about how you'll vote in an election; You need the latest political news and analysis from a reliable, nonpartisan source.

United Nations

Security Council
more...less...
Under the Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members, and each Member has one vote. Under the Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security. The Security Council also recommends to the General Assembly the appointment of the Secretary-General and the admission of new Members to the United Nations. And, together with the General Assembly, it elects the judges of the International Court of Justice.
Chapter VII
more...less...
Action with respect to threats to the peace, breaches of the peace, and acts of aggression.
Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy.
Office for Disarmament Affairs
Peacekeeping Operations
Peacebuilding Commission
Special Political Missions

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights
more...less...
Adopted December 10, 1948, at the Palais de Chaillot, Paris, the Declaration consists of 30 articles representing foundational human rights to be universally protected.
Human Rights Council (HRC)
The HRC is a Charter-based body made up of 47 States, responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe. Other features include an Advisory Committee which serves as the Council’s “think tank” providing it with expertise and advice on thematic human rights issues and a revised Complaints Procedure mechanism which allows individuals and organizations to bring complaints about human rights violations to the attention of the Council. From the website.
Human Rights by Country
United Nations Office of the High Commission for Human Rights

Human Rights Treaties

Promote Sustainable Development
Millenium Development Goals and Beyond 2015
more...less...
The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty rates to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest. The UN is also working with governments, civil society and other partners to build on the momentum generated by the MDGs and carry on with an ambitious post-2015 development agenda.
Sustainable Development Goals: 17 Goals to Transform our World
Transforming Our World: The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development
Framework Convention on Climate Change
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR)

Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
more...less...
CERD monitors implementation of the International Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Racial Discrimination. All parties submit regular reports to CERD on how rights are being implemented. States must report initially 1 year after acceding to the Convention and then every 2 years. The Committee examines each report and addresses its concerns and recommendations to the State party in the form of “concluding observations”. Please refer to website for additional monitoring methods.
Human Rights Committee
more...less...
The Human Rights Committee is the body of independent experts that monitors implementation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights by its State parties, as well as the First and Second Optional Protocols to the Covenant.
Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
more...less...
The Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR) is the body of 18 independent experts that monitors implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights by its States parties. The Committee was established under ECOSOC Resolution 1985/17 of 28 May 1985 to carry out the monitoring functions assigned to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) in Part IV of the Covenant.
Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)
more...less...
CEDAW is the body of independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women. CEDAW consists of 23 experts on women’s rights from around the world. Countries who have become party to the treaty (States parties) are obliged to submit regular reports to the Committee on how the rights of the Convention are implemented. Please refer to website for further monitoring devices.
Committee Against Torture (CAT)
more...less...
CAT is the body of 10 independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment by its State parties. All States parties are obliged to submit regular reports to the Committee on how the rights are being implemented. States must report initially one year after acceding to the Convention and then every four years. See website for additional monitoring devices.
Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC)
more...less...
CRC is the body of 18 independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child by its State parties. It also monitors implementation of two optional protocols to the Convention, on involvement of children in armed conflict and on sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography.
Committee on Migrant Workers
more...less...
The Committee on Migrant Workers is composed of 14 independent experts (persons of high moral character, impartiality and recognized competence in the field covered by the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families). Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties in accordance with article 72 of the Convention.
Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD)
more...less...
The Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) is the body of independent experts which monitors implementation of the Convention by the States Parties.
Committee on Enforced Disappearances
more...less...
The Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED) is the body of independent experts which monitors implementation of the Convention by the States Parties.

United Nations Logo

United Nations Emblem Description:

The current United Nations emblem was approved on 7 December 1946. The design is "a map of the world representing an azimuthal equidistant projection centered on the North Pole, inscribed in a wreath consisting of crossed conventionalized branches of the olive tree, in gold on a field of smoke-blue with all water areas in white. The projection of the map extends to 60 degrees south latitude, and includes five concentric circles."

Symbolism:

Olive branches symbolize peace. The world map depicts the area of concern to the United Nations in achieving its main purpose, peace and security.

United Nations

United Nations - HOME
The United Nations Charter
more...less...
The United Nations Charter, signed June 26, 1945, in San Francisco, came into force on October 24, 1945. Read the Introductory Note to get the amendment background, and the Preamble to appreciate the enormity of this undertaking.

General Assembly
UN iLibrary
Amazing resource of books, journals, periodicals from Pre-2007 published by the UN. Search by Theme, Country, Theme & Country, Catalogue

Related Guides

Human Rights
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 64 views this year

Expansion & Interconnection
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 14 views this year

UN Sustainable Development Goals: 17 Goals to Transform Our World
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 1016 views this year

Cold War
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 66 views this year
Environmental Systems & Societies
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 229 views this year
Social Bias
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 10 views this year
Globalization
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 61 views this year
Economics & Business
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 113 views this year
Issues
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 8 views this year
Middle School Science
by Roxy Yuen Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 870 views this year