It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Charles Dickens, The Industrial Revolution and The Victorian Era: Databases / Journal Articles
World History: Ancient & Medieval ErasThis link opens in a new windowcomprehensive survey of early human history around the world, from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance. Reference content is organized by both place and time and includes narrative historical accounts; profiles of city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient world; and detailed overviews of religions, cultural practices, conflicts, and more. In original journal articles, prominent historians consider the mysteries of our world’s past as well as the political and cultural themes throughout history that continue to warrant scholarly investigation today.
1500-1700 (Emergence of Modern Europe); 1500-1776 (The World Beyond Europe); 1700-1800 (The Age of Reason); 1776-1825 (A Time of Revolutions); 1776-1914 (Spheres of Influence); 1815-1914 (The Rise of Nationalism); 1800-1914 (The Rise of the Industrial Revolution); 1914-1945 (The World at War); 1945-1991 (The Cold War); 1991- Present (A New Millennium)
Global Issues in ContextThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
CIA World FactbookThis link opens in a new windowFree resource.The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Credo Reference: British History
Credo Reference helps you start your research in British history with overviews of thought and politics in the UK, profiles and obituaries of famous figures, and introductions to key historical events.