It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Expansion & Interconnection: Databases & Journals
Why did civilizations expand? What are the consequences? How does this apply to us, today?
World History: Ancient & Medieval ErasThis link opens in a new windowcomprehensive survey of early human history around the world, from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance. Reference content is organized by both place and time and includes narrative historical accounts; profiles of city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient world; and detailed overviews of religions, cultural practices, conflicts, and more. In original journal articles, prominent historians consider the mysteries of our world’s past as well as the political and cultural themes throughout history that continue to warrant scholarly investigation today.
1500-1700 (Emergence of Modern Europe); 1500-1776 (The World Beyond Europe); 1700-1800 (The Age of Reason); 1776-1825 (A Time of Revolutions); 1776-1914 (Spheres of Influence); 1815-1914 (The Rise of Nationalism); 1800-1914 (The Rise of the Industrial Revolution); 1914-1945 (The World at War); 1945-1991 (The Cold War); 1991- Present (A New Millennium)
Global Issues in ContextThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
CIA World FactbookThis link opens in a new windowFree resource.The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
When searching databases and the open Internet, use and combine these Key Terms:
Anthropocene epoch — A new epoch, not formally accepted by geologists, during which our species has become the dominant force for change in the biosphere. The Anthropocene marks the end of the Holocene epoch, about the time of the Industrial Revolution, 200 years ago.
Black Death — The fourteenth-century outbreak of bubonic plague, which killed up to half the population of Europe.
carrying capacity — The maximum number of individuals that a region’s resources can support or sustain.
exchange networks — Networks that link people, societies, and regions through the transfer of information, goods, people, and sometimes disease. All forms of collective learning work through exchange networks.
globalization — The expansion of exchange networks until they begin to reach across the entire world.
Holocene epoch — The geological epoch that begins with the end of the last ice age, about 13,000 years ago, and ends at the start of the Anthropocene epoch, about 200 years ago.
hub region — A geographical region characterized by an exceptional amount of exchange of people, ideas, and goods taking place—Mesopotamia, for example. After 1500, the Atlantic regions became a significant hub region through Europe’s control of the major international sea routes.
Industrial Revolution — A period of technological innovation starting in England late in the eighteenth century that resulted in a major change in the way goods were produced, and caused a major shift in global economics. These innovations came as a result of the systematic use of fossil fuels in place of human and animal power to manufacturing, communications, and transportation.
Malthusian cycles — Long cycles of economic, demographic, cultural, and political expansion, generally followed by periods of crisis and decline. These cycles, generally lasting several centuries, are apparent throughout the era of agrarian civilizations, and were probably set into motion by the inability of innovation to keep pace with population growth. Named for Thomas Malthus (1766–1834), an English pastor and economist.
Modern Revolution — A deliberately vague label for the revolutionary transformations that have created the modern world. The Modern Revolution began around 1500 and ushered in the Modern era of human history.
Silk Roads — The trade routes connecting Europe to the Middle East, India, and China.
steam engines — Machines that burn coal to produce steam, used to perform mechanical work. James Watt configured the first profitable one at the time of the American Revolution. Their use launched human society over a threshold no longer limited by the annual flow of solar energy.
steppe lands — Arid grasslands that are suitable for grazing animals but too dry for agriculture.
world zones — Four unconnected geographic zones that emerged as sea levels rose at the end of the last ice age. The four world zones are: Afro-Eurasia (Africa and the Eurasian landmasses, plus offshore islands like Britain and Japan); The Americas (North, Central, and South America, plus offshore islands); Australasia (Australia, the island of Papua New Guinea, plus neighboring islands); and the island societies of the Pacific (New Zealand, Micronesia, Melanesia, and Hawaii).
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.