Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IndieWire has grown over the last two decades into a preeminent source for film and television news, reviews, interviews, global festival coverage and more.
New York Times Movie Reviews
Reviews of contemporary blockbuster as well as independent films.
Rollingstone Movie Reviews
Film reviews of contemporary films .
Rotten Tomatoes and the Tomatometer score are the world’s most trusted recommendation resources for quality entertainment.
Film Databases and Websites
The site includes rich reference material including Academy Awards history, film genres, film terms, film history by decade, trivia, and lots of lists of 'best' films, stars, scenes, quotes, resources, posters, etc.
BFI National Archive
BFI National Archive holds one of the largest film and television collections in the world. Dating from the earliest days of film to the live capture of current television content, the collection contains nearly a million titles
Colonial Film Database
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by their academic research team.
Featuring the world's finest directors, writers, orchestras, actors and directors, prima ballerinas, virtuosi, thinkers, painters and poets, Hibrow presents hundreds of professionally produced videos on the visual arts, cinema, music, literature, theatre and dance.
Internet Archive -- Moving image Archive
Contains digitized movies available online to provide easy access to a rich and fascinating core collection of archival films.
Moving Image Source
The Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.
Open Culture Films
Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of the greatest actors, actresses and directors. The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns (many with John Wayne); Martial Arts Movies; Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation. There are also a special collections of Oscar Winning Movies and Films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Charlie Chaplin.
Internet Movie DataBase. A great source of information on movies, TV and entertainment programs and cast and crew members as well as information regarding the film industry.
Journals and Magazines
Animation Studies Online Journal
Animation Studies is the Society for Animation Studies’ peer-reviewed online journal. It publishes the society’s conference proceedings and is open to submissions from SAS members.
A publication of the Museum of the Moving Image. The magazine was first formed in 2003 and was run independently by editors Michael Koresky and Jeff Reichert until September 2014, when they partnered with the Museum.