Skip to Main Content

Renaissance, Reformation, The Enlightenment, & The French Revolution: Enlightenment - 1600-1700s

Credo Reference: History

Databases to Use

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated September 2024)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Britannica School This link opens in a new window

Enlightenment WebLinks

The Enlightenment Figures
English Literature: Early 17th Century (1603-1660)
Luminarium
Enlightenment: Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Enlightenment: The History Channel
Famous Trials: The Trial of Galilio Galilei
The Galileo Project
Biography, Chronology (time and place), Family, Portraits, Science, Christianity
Modern History Sourcebook: The Enlightenment
Fordham University. Primary sources
Two Treatises on Government
Bartleby.com
Women During the Enlightenment and Their Contributions
UMW

Enlightenment Philosophers & Thinkers

Benjamin Franklin and the American Enlightenment
Benjamin Franklin: Enlightenment Archetype
Atlas Society
Benjamin Franklin: American Author, Scientist, and Statesman
Britannica

Olympe de Gouges (1748—1793)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Olympe de Gouges: Feminist, Humanist and Enlightenment Thinker of 18th Century France
Holly Marie Armishaw
(Based in Vancouver, Canada, Holly Marie Armishaw is a contemporary artist, art writer, francophile)
Revolutionary feminist Olympe De Gouges in the Race for a Place in France's Panthéon
The Guardian

Enlightenment Thinkers-Thomas Hobbes
Lumen
The Philosophers: Hobbes
Enlightenment Thinkers
Thomas Hobbes- The English Philosopher
Britannica
Thomas Hobbes: Moral and Political Philosophy
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Thomas Jefferson
BBC
Jefferson and the Enlightenment
Smithsonian, Monticello
Thomas Jefferson’s Enlightenment—Paris, 1785
Virginia Museum of History & Culture
Enlightenment, Freedom, and Slavery
Smithsonian, Monticello

John Locke
History.com
The Influence of Locke
Britannica
The Influence of John Locke’s Works
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Baron de Montesquieu (Charles-Louis de Secondat)
Biography
Baron de Montesquieu, Charles-Louis de Secondat
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Montesquieu French Political Philosopher
Britannica

Thomas Paine
Biography
Thomas Paine: Anglo-American Political and Religious Thinker.
Enlightenment Revolution

Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712 - 1778)
BBC
Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712—1778) rousseau
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Rousseau’s Dissent from the Enlightenment
The Great Courses
Jean Jacques Rousseau
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Adam Smith
FactMonster
Adam Smith
The Basics of Philosophy
Adam Smith (1723-1790)
BBC
Adam Smith and the Virtues of Enlightenment
Acton Institute

Voltaire (François-Marie Arouet)
The Basics of Philosophy
Voltaire and Enlightenment
Voltaire Foundation, U of Oxford

Videos to Watch