Skip to Main Content

Sudan: 2nd Civil War (1983-2005): "A Long Walk to Water": "A Long Walk to Water" Research / Databases

Suggested Databases!

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated November 2020)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Click ABC CLIO History Databases
Click World Geography
Find South Sudan
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Click Conflict & Diplomacy. Find South Sudan Civil War. Read Overview, Research, Newspaper Articles.
OR search "lost boys of Sudan"

South Sudan - Web Resources

Also see:

World Geography database (South Sudan)
Student Resources in Context (South Sudan or Nuer or Dinka)
Global Issues in Context --> Conflict & Diplomacy --> South Sudan Civil War

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
South Sudan Profile - Timeline - 1899- 2017
BBC
History of the Conflict
Enough Project
Sudan: Race and Religion in Civil War
Good publication. Introduction, historical background, domestic factors, international factors, key events, groups and organizations, resources. Berkley Center for Religion, Peace & World Affairs at Georgetown University

How Does Smoke Affect Honey Bees?
Science ABC
How to Smoke your Bees
Omlet
Why Do Beekeepers Smoke Their Hives?
Hobby Farms

Also see:

World Geography database (South Sudan)
Student Resources in Context (South Sudan or Nuer or Dinka)
Global Issues in Context --> Conflict & Diplomacy --> South Sudan Civil War

Conflict Between Dinka and Nuer in South Sudan
Environment, Conflict and Cooperation
How the World's Youngest Nation Descended Into Bloody Civil War: Fighting Between its Two Main Tribal Groups Threatens to Tear South Sudan Apart
National Geographic
Traditional Scarification

Kakuma News Reflector – A Refugee Free Press
Kakuma Refugee Camp
United Nations Refugee Camp
South Sudan Situation
UNHCR
Life in the Kakuma Refugee Camp
Project Kakuma
Refugee Council: 7 Biggest Refugee Camps in the World

Water for South Sudan
Water in Crisis: Sudan
The Water Project
Medics: ‘Cholera Spreading in Sudan’
Oxfam
Clean Water Changes Lives in a Town in South Sudan
UNICEF

UNICEF: South Sudan
Click Press Releases for latest news

Also see:

World Geography database (South Sudan)
Student Resources in Context (South Sudan or Nuer or Dinka)
Global Issues in Context --> Conflict & Diplomacy --> South Sudan Civil War

Lost and Found
Book review of Dave Eggers "What is the What" on story of Valentino Achak Deng, A Lost Boy of Sudan. Salon, 2006
The Lost Boys of Sudan
International Rescue Committee
The Lost Boys of Sudan
UNICEF
The Lost Boys of Sudan; The Long, Long, Long Road to Fargo
The New York Times Magazine
Lost Boys of Sudan in Chicago: Their Writings
One Day I Had to Run
Refugee Children Tell Their Own Story
The “Lost Boys of Sudan” Functional and Behavioral Health of Unaccompanied Refugee Minors Resettled in the United States
Journal of the American Medical Association

Also see:

Literature Reference Center database. Enter "long walk to water" or "Linda Sue Park"

A Long Walk to Water: Overcoming Adversity One Fay at a Time in the Sudan
Bookpage, Book Review
November 2010
"A Long Walk to Water" FAQs
Discussion Guide
Linda Sue Parks Author Page