LibGuides: Chinese History: Chinese Arts & Culture

Databases To Use

Ancient History Encyclopedia

Britannica School
Google Arts & Culture
JSTOR
Set up your own account. See the librarian!

Books & Videos

Web Resources

Ancient Chinese Art
Ancient History Encyclopedia
"Calligraphy and Painting" Chinese Calligraphy
The Met. Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Calligraphy and Painting" Chinese Painting
The Met. Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Calligraphy and Painting" Landscape Painting in Chinese Art
The Met. Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Ceramics, Pottery, & Jade" Guide to Chinese Ceramics.
The Art of Asia
"Ceramics, Pottery, & Jade" Jade in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
"Ceramics, Pottery, & Jade" Neolithic Period in China
The Met. Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Cloisonné" Chinese Cloisonné
The Met. Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Festivals" Culture Insider: Things you Need to Know About Mid-Autumn Festival
"Festivals" The Legends Behind the Dragon Boat Festival
Smithsonian Magazine
"Fabric Arts" Evolution of Caps in China
ChinaCulture.org
"Fabric Arts" Life Etiquette and Shoes
ChinaCulture.org
"Fabric Arts" Touched by Indigo: Chinese Blue-and-White Textiles and Embroidery
Royal Ontario Museum
"Games" Culture Insider: Children's Games in Ancient China
ChinaCulture.org
"Games" How Mahjong Works
How Stuff Works
"Handcrafts" China Paper Cutting Museum Yangzhou, China
Google Arts & Culture
"Handcrafts" Chinese Colored Lanterns
ChinaCulture.org
"Handcrafts" Chinese Traditional Kite Craft
ChinaCulture.org
"Inventions" China's Age of Invention
PBS
"Martial Arts" A Brief History of the Chinese Martial Arts
YMAA
"Martial Arts" History of Chinese Martial Arts
ChinaCulture.org
"Music" Music and Art of China
The Met. Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Plant Products" For the Love of Tea
Columbia U Fifteen EightyFour
"Plant Products" Surprising Facts About the History of Chopsticks
Cambridge U Fifteen EightyFour
"Theatre Arts" Chinese Shadow Puppetry
Chinese Shadow Puppetry
"Theatre Arts" The Early History of Chinese Theatre
Asian Traditional Theatre & Dance
"Theatre Arts" Huangmei Opera
ChinaCulture.org
"Women's Issues" The Peculiar History of Foot Binding in China
The Atlantic
"Women's Issues" Women in Traditional China
AsiaSociety

Videos to Watch

China - Religion & Philosophy

3,000 Ancient Buddhas
National Geographic
100 Schools of Thought
Exploring Chinese History - Culture - Philosophy
Ancient Chinese Philosophy
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Basics of Buddhism
PBS
Confucius (551—479 B.C.E.)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Confucius Quotes
Quotations Page
Laozi (Lao-tzu, fl. 6th cn. B.C.E.)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Laozi
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Legalism
Exploring Chinese History - Culture - Philosophy
Legalism in Ancient China
Ancient Standard
Sun-Tzu
Ancient History Encyclopedia