LibGuides: Poetry: Pablo Neruda

Videos

Romance and Revolution
Poetry by Pablo Neruda (Walking Around)

Databases to Use

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated September 2024)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

JSTOR
Set up your own account. See the librarian!

Books at Concordian

Pablo Neruda by Monica Brown; Julie Paschkis (Illustrator)
Call Number: 861.62 BRO
ISBN: 9780805091984
Publication Date: 2011-03-29
At the PYP Library
Pablo Neruda by Luis Poirot
Call Number: SEC 861 POI
ISBN: 0393027708
Publication Date: 1990
A collection of photographs featuring the Nobel Prize-winning poet Pablo Neruda, his possessions, and surroundings.
Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda ; translated by W.S. Merwin.
Call Number: SEC 861.2 NER
ISBN: 9780224074414
Publication Date: 2004
His third book, Veinte Poemas de Amor y una Cancion Desesperada - Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair- was published in 1924 and attracted international acclaim. It remains one of the most celebrated and admired books of erotic poetry published in the last hundred years, with over a million copies sold worldwide

Pablo Neruda

Pablo Neruda - Britannica School High
Section on Neruda and Communism
Poetry Foundation - Pablo Neruda
Pablo Neruda - Poets.org
Pablo Neruda Biographical - The Nobel Priz
The Nobel Prize in Literature 1971
Celebrating the Pablo Neruda Centennial
July 12 2004 "Celebrations begin Monday in honor of the centennial of the birth of Pablo Neruda. The child of a railway worker, Neruda began writing poetry when he was 14, became a Communist in his 20s and won a Nobel Prize in 1971. NPR's Renee Montagne talks with Mark Eisner, editor of a new collection called The Essential Neruda."
The Ecstasist Pablo Neruda and His Passions.
Sept 01 2003. Book review and great article on “The Poetry of Pablo Neruda” (Farrar, Straus & Giroux; $40), edited by Ilan Stavans, a professor of Latin-American and Latino culture at Amherst College, is a weighty volume of almost a thousand pages, including an informative introduction, a bibliography of translations into English of Neruda’s work, and notes on his life and his poetry.
Pablo Neruda - Postcolonial Studies at Emory University
Biography, literary influences, themes and list of works.
Neruda, Pablo
Beasley, Sandra. “Neruda, Pablo.” Encyclopedia of World Poetry, 1900 to the Present, Second Edition, Facts On File, 2013. Bloom's Literature, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=256563&itemid=WE54&articleId=25848. Accessed 16 Nov. 2020.
Nerudo, Pablo
Burt, Daniel S. “Neruda, Pablo.” The Literary 100, Revised Edition, Facts On File, 2008. Bloom's Literature, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=256563&itemid=WE54&articleId=46051. Accessed 16 Nov. 2020.
Neruda, Pablo
"Neruda, Pablo." The Columbia Encyclopedia, Paul Lagasse, and Columbia University, Columbia University Press, 8th edition, 2018. Credo Reference,
Neruda, Pablo 1904-1973
Rodgers, Jennifer C. "Neruda, Pablo 1904-1973." Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms, edited by Margaretta Jolly, Routledge, 1st edition, 2001. Credo Reference,

Neruda in English: The Controversy Over Translation Poetics
Cohen, Jonathan. “Neruda in English: The Controversy Over Translation Poetics.” Pablo Neruda, Chelsea House, 2015. Bloom's Literature, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=256563&itemid=WE54&articleId=368213. Accessed 16 Nov. 2020.
Translation and the Reception and Influence of Latin American Literature in the United States
James Remington Krause, Dissertation, Vanderbilt U.
See II. MISREPRESENTING NERUDA IN THE HEIGHTS OF
MACCHU PICCHU

From the Library of Congress, an hour-long lecture. Forrest Gander read from his new book "Then Come Back: The Lost Neruda Poems" and participated in a discussion with Marjorie Agosin. Speaker Biography: Forrest Gander is a poet and translator. Speaker Biography: Marjorie Agosin is a Chilean-born author.

Selected Works
Bloom's Literature. Overviews of selected works:
"Amor America (1400)" 1950
"Ars Poetica"1933
"Ode with a Lament" 1935
"Sexual Water" 1935
"Tonight I Can Write" 1924 Essay
"The United Fruit Company" 1950
"Walking Around" 1935
"Canto General" from Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Credo Reference. Cárcamo-Huechante, Luis E., and LUIS E. CÁRCAMO-HUECHANTE. "Canto general." Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003, edited by Daniel Balderston, and Mike Gonzalez, Routledge, 1st edition, 2004. Credo Reference.
List of Works
Wikipedia entry.
Pablo Neruda's 'Poems of the Sea'
8-minute listen. Alastair Reed has translated Neruda's poems, including Poems of the Sea by Pablo Neruda (Harper Collins 2004).
The Ecstasist Pablo Neruda and His Passions.
Sept 01 2003. Book review and great article on “The Poetry of Pablo Neruda” (Farrar, Straus & Giroux; $40), edited by Ilan Stavans, a professor of Latin-American and Latino culture at Amherst College, is a weighty volume of almost a thousand pages, including an informative introduction, a bibliography of translations into English of Neruda’s work, and notes on his life and his poetry.

Spanish Civil War, Communism, Surrealism, Frederico Garcia Lorca

Glossary / Terminology
Articles

Glossary of Poetic Terms - Surrealism
Poetry Foundation
Surrealism - Literary Terms
Surrealism from Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable (brief definition)
"Surrealism." Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable, edited by Adrian Room, and Ebenezer Cobham Brewer, Cassell, 2nd edition, 2009. Credo Reference,
Communism from Encyclopedia of Political Communication (brief definition)
Short, C. Brant. "Communism." Encyclopedia of Political Communication, Lynda Lee Kaid, Sage Publications, 1st edition, 2008. Credo Reference,
Spanish Civil War
Anderson, George Parker, et al. “Spanish Civil War.” Encyclopedia of American Literature, Third Edition, Facts On File, 2013. Bloom's Literature,
Spanish Civil War

Pablo Neruda - Britannica School High
Section on Neruda and Communism
Pablo Neruda, The Art of Poetry No. 14
Issue 51, Spring 1971. From the article "
“I have never thought of my life as divided between poetry and politics,” Pablo Neruda said in his September 30, 1969, acceptance speech as the Chilean Communist Party candidate for the presidency. “I am a Chilean who for decades has known the misfortunes and difficulties of our national existence and who has taken part in each sorrow and joy of the people. I am not a stranger to them, I come from them, I am part of the people. I come from a working-class family . . . I have never been in with those in power and have always felt that my vocation and my duty was to serve the Chilean people in my actions and with my poetry. I have lived singing and defending them.”
Spain in Our Hearts Hymn to the Glory of the People at War
Neruda, Pablo, and Jenny Ludwig. "Spain in Our Hearts Hymn to the Glory of the People at War." The Literature of War, edited by Thomas Riggs, Gale, 1st edition, 2012. Credo Reference,
What We Can Learn from Neruda’s Poetry of Resistance
The Paris Review. Mark Eisner March 26, 2018
Poet of the People The Partisan World of Pablo Neruda
The New Republic Benjamin Kunkel /July 2, 2018
"United Fruit Co.," Canto General, and Neruda's Critique of Capitalism
Gray, Jeffrey. “‘United Fruit Co.," Canto General, and Neruda's Critique of Capitalism.” Bloom's Literary Themes: Exploration and Colonization, Chelsea House, 2020. Bloom's Literature, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=256563&itemid=WE54&articleId=2606. Accessed 16 Nov. 2020.
Selected Odes of Pable Neruda
Bogen, Don. "Selected Odes of Pable Neruda." Literature of Developing Nations for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Literature of Developing Nations, edited by Elizabeth Bellalouna, et al., vol. 2, Gale, 2000. Gale Literature Resource Center, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/H1420031419/LitRC?u=thcis&sid=LitRC&xid=cf7286df. Accessed 16 Nov. 2020. Originally published in The Nation, vol. 254, no. 3, 27 Jan. 1992, p. 95.
Poesia y Paz: Politics in Pablo Neruda's Late and Posthumous Poetry
Rachel Anna Neff, Spring 2007. Research paper, Washington State University.
Poem of the Day -- "Ode to Federico Garcia Lorca" by Pablo Neruda
eNOTHING - Poems, Poets, and Poetry made easy...This is a poem of friendship between two Spanish-Language poetry icons, the great Chilean Poet Pablo Neruda, and the great Spanish Surrealist, Federico Garcia Lorca.
Federico García Lorca and Pablo Neruda's Odes to Walt Whitman:
"This article investigates the relation between two poems titled “Oda a Walt Whitman,” one by Federico García Lorca (Poeta en Nueva York), the other by Pablo Neruda (Nuevas odas elementales). Both odes pay a tribute to Whitman, but also deviate from eulogy and provide a frame for a very critical depiction of contemporary America, thus mixing praise and disparagement."