LibGuides: Extended Essay Guide: Databases & Academic Journals

Concordian Databases - Click the Field & Find Suggestions (Hint: Start with Reference!)

Usernames and Passwords

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated September 2024)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

A-Z Database List

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica eBooks This link opens in a new window
52 ebooks on many subjects

OpenCulture
Over 800 free eBooks
more...less...
"Download 800 free eBooks to your Kindle, iPad/iPhone, computer, smart phone or ereader. Collection includes great works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry, including works by Asimov, Jane Austen, Philip K. Dick, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Neil Gaiman, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Shakespeare, Ernest Hemingway, Virginia Woolf & James Joyce. Also please see our collection 900 Free Audio Books: Download Great Books for Free, where you can download more great books to your computer or mp3 player."

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window "...develops students' global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. On any given country, students can find information about the landforms and climate; natural resources and agriculture; environment; people; traditions and etiquette; food and holidays; national dress; art and landmarks; and government, politics, and economy; as well as its history and contemporary issues the country faces."
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
JSTOR - Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free resource. More than 950 open access books!
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
IMSLP: International Music Score Project Library This link opens in a new window
Free resource
The National Archives (UK) This link opens in a new window
Free resource. 1,000 years of records
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window Free resource. Explore 16,501,850 items from libraries, archives, and museums
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Free resource

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Harvard Business Review This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Databank - World Bank This link opens in a new window
Free resource
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. This free research database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 806,000 records and open access full text for more than 12,000 records.Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management."

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window Free resource.The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window Business Insights: Global is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, primary sources, and books
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources This link opens in a new window
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
Full archives
Ebooks
Streaming films
Unlimited articles
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
The National Archives (UK) This link opens in a new window
Free resource. 1,000 years of records
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Free resource
National Archives (USA) This link opens in a new window
Free resource
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window Free resource. Explore 16,501,850 items from libraries, archives, and museums
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
The National Archives (UK) This link opens in a new window
Free resource. 1,000 years of records
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window Free resource. Explore 16,501,850 items from libraries, archives, and museums
Science Journal This link opens in a new window Subscription to current and archives issues of: Science Science Advances Science Immunology Science Robotics Science Signaling Science Translational Medicine
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!

Britannica eBooks This link opens in a new window
52 ebooks on many subjects
JSTOR - Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free resource. More than 950 open access books!
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free digital non-fiction books. See More for Subjects
Agriculture and Food Sciences
Arts and Architecture
Biology and Life Sciences
Business and Economics
Chemistry
Earth and Environmental Sciences
General Works
Health Sciences
History and Archaeology
Languages and Literatures
Law and Political Science
Mathematics and Statistics
Philosophy and Religion
Physics and Astronomy
Science General
Social Sciences
Technology and Engineering
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window Free resource. University of Pennsylvania.

OpenCulture
Over 800 free eBooks
more...less...
"Download 800 free eBooks to your Kindle, iPad/iPhone, computer, smart phone or ereader. Collection includes great works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry, including works by Asimov, Jane Austen, Philip K. Dick, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Neil Gaiman, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Shakespeare, Ernest Hemingway, Virginia Woolf & James Joyce. Also please see our collection 900 Free Audio Books: Download Great Books for Free, where you can download more great books to your computer or mp3 player."

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, primary sources, and books
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
JSTOR - Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free resource. More than 950 open access books!
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Free resource
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window Free resource. Explore 16,501,850 items from libraries, archives, and museums

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
JSTOR - Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free resource. More than 950 open access books!
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. This free research database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 806,000 records and open access full text for more than 12,000 records.Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management."
The Move to Global War: Online Course Companion This link opens in a new window
The National Archives (UK) This link opens in a new window
Free resource. 1,000 years of records
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window Free resource.The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window Free resource. Explore 16,501,850 items from libraries, archives, and museums
Government Information for Children (US) This link opens in a new window
Free resource. NOT just for kids!
History & Politics Out Loud - Famous Speeches This link opens in a new window Famous speeches made by influential leaders of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
History Extra This link opens in a new window
Free resource
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Free resource
National Archives (USA) This link opens in a new window
Free resource
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window
Free resource. University of Pennsylvania.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources This link opens in a new window

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, primary sources, and books
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources This link opens in a new window
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window Free resource. Explore 16,501,850 items from libraries, archives, and museums

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
Literary Terms This link opens in a new window
Free resource
International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Free resource
Free resource
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
JSTOR - Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free resource. More than 950 open access books!
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window Free resource. University of Pennsylvania.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free digital non-fiction books. See More for Subjects
Agriculture and Food Sciences
Arts and Architecture
Biology and Life Sciences
Business and Economics
Chemistry
Earth and Environmental Sciences
General Works
Health Sciences
History and Archaeology
Languages and Literatures
Law and Political Science
Mathematics and Statistics
Philosophy and Religion
Physics and Astronomy
Science General
Social Sciences
Technology and Engineering
The Atlantic This link opens in a new window
The New Yorker This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
National Archives (USA) This link opens in a new window
Free resource
The National Archives (UK) This link opens in a new window Free resource. 1,000 years of records
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Free resource

ABC News (Australia)

Bangkok Post This link opens in a new window
Free resource
BBC This link opens in a new window
Free resource
GoogleNews This link opens in a new window
Harvard Business Review This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
South China Morning Post This link opens in a new window
Free resource
The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources This link opens in a new window

Biology: IBDP Online Course Companion This link opens in a new window
Causes and Effects of 20th Century Wars: IB History Course Book This link opens in a new window
The Move to Global War: Online Course Companion This link opens in a new window
Conflict and Intervention: IB History Online Companion Course Book This link opens in a new window
Rights and Protest: IB History Online Course Companion Book This link opens in a new window
Theory of Knowledge Course Companion This link opens in a new window

The Atlantic This link opens in a new window
C&EN - Chemical & Engineering News This link opens in a new window
Harvard Business Review This link opens in a new window
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
Full archives
Ebooks
Streaming films
Unlimited articles
New Scientist This link opens in a new window
The New Yorker This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Science Journal This link opens in a new window Subscription to current and archives issues of: Science Science Advances Science Immunology Science Robotics Science Signaling Science Translational Medicine
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
Core Concepts: Periodic Table This link opens in a new window
Core Concepts: Biology This link opens in a new window
Core Concepts: Chemistry This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
JSTOR - Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Free resource. More than 950 open access books!
NSDL: National Science Digital Library This link opens in a new window
C&EN - Chemical & Engineering News This link opens in a new window
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
Full archives
Ebooks
Streaming films
Unlimited articles
New Scientist This link opens in a new window
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Science Journal This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. This free research database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 806,000 records and open access full text for more than 12,000 records.Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management."
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
BrainPop This link opens in a new window
Animated Educational Site for Kids - Science, Social Studies, English, Math, Arts & Music, Health, and Technology.
PowerKnowledge: Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Earth & Space Science This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Physical Science This link opens in a new window
Biology: IBDP Online Course Companion This link opens in a new window
Nature This link opens in a new window

Usernames and Passwords

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
BrainPop This link opens in a new window
International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Free resource
Free resource
DK Find Out! This link opens in a new window
Based on terrific DK Eyewitness Books. Great for background information. Scroll
Government Information for Children (US) This link opens in a new window
Free resource. NOT just for kids!
National Geographic Kids This link opens in a new window
Great for animals, science, space, geography, games, atlas
PowerKnowledge: Earth & Space Science This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Physical Science This link opens in a new window
Core Concepts: Biology This link opens in a new window
Core Concepts: Chemistry This link opens in a new window
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window

Journals articles Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Set up your own account. See the librarian!

Search Google Scholar

How to make a Google Scholar alert!

Universities around us

Thammasat University Library
Chulalongkorn University Intellectual Repository (CUIR)
รวมผลงานวิชาการต่างๆ โดยสำนักวิทยทรัพยากรจุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย

DP: Academic Journal Articles - Open Source

Academic Journals Academic Journals is a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes 111 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
arXiv Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Berghahn Open Access
eBooks & Journals: Anthropology, Archaeology, Cultural Studies, Environmental Studies, Film & Television Studies, History, Refugee & Migration Studies
Britain and the European Union - London School of Economics Library Resources
Data Repositories
Open Access Directory--ALL subjects
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
EconBiz EconBiz is a search portal for economics and business studies. It offers: A literature search across important German and international databases; Access to full texts on the internet; Acalendar of events for scholarly conferences and summer schools; Reference service Research Guide EconDesk which answers your questions about the search for literature and statistical data.
Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene Atmospheric Science Earth & Environmental Science Ecology Ocean Science Sustainability Transitions Sustainable Engineering
ERIC
Institute of Education Services
Gapminder
GoogleScholar Multidisciplinary
MDPI - The Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute Based in Switzerland, is a publisher of more than 110 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering arts, sciences, technology and medicine.
Microsoft Academic "Semantic search" responds with results based on more than keywords
National Bureau of Economics Research a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. NBER-affiliated researchers study a wide range of topics and they employ many different methods in their work. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
Open Access Library
OpenGrey - Grey Literature System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents. Examples of grey (gray) literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities. The site includes preprints from the GL conferences (GreyNet International) in full text.
PhilPapers Some are open source. However, when you click on a topic it provides a good overview and keywords, people, dates.
PLOS One
10 years (2018)
RefSeek RefSeek's unique approach offers students comprehensive subject coverage without the information overload of a general search engine—increasing the visibility of academic information and compelling ideas that are often lost in a muddle of sponsored links and commercial results.
Springer Open Offers a roster of more than 160 peer-reviewed, open access journals, as well as their more recent addition of free access books, covering all scientific disciplines.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network SSRN's eLibrary provides 706,268 research papers from 325,723 researchers across 24 disciplines.

ADS: Astrophysics Data System The ADS is operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory under NASA Cooperative Agreement NNX16AC86A
Agris Agriculture and Technology
arXiv Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
ASDL: Analytical Sciences Digital Library ASDL, collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer reviewed web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences.
BioMed Central UK-based publisher of 258 peer-reviewed open access journals. Their published works span science, technology and medicine and include many well-regarded titles.
BioOne BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open-access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene. Established in 1999 by five founding organizations—the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), the Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), The University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), and Allen Press, Inc—BioOne serves a community of over 140 society and institutional publishers, 4,000 accessing institutions, and millions of researchers worldwide.
The Clay Mathematics Institute The Clay Mathematics Institute (CMI) is a privately funded operating foundation dedicated to increasing and disseminating mathematical knowledge.
The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein
Copernicus Publications An open-access scientific publisher in Germany since 2001. They are strong supporters of the researchers who create these articles, providing top-level peer review and promotion for their work.
De Gruyter Open One of Germany’s leading publishers of open access content. Today DeGruyter Open (DGO) publishes about 400 owned and third-party scholarly journals and books across all major disciplines.
EDP Open France-based scientific publisher with an international mission. They publish more than 50 scientific journals, with some 60,000 published pages annually.
Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene Atmospheric Science Earth & Environmental Science Ecology Ocean Science Sustainability Transitions Sustainable Engineering
Europe PMC A database of biomedical and life sciences literature with access to full-text research articles and citation. Europe PMC includes resources from PubMed and PubMed Central (PMC), projects developed at the NCBI in the USA. Europe PMC is part of a network of PMC International (PMCI) repositories that also includes PMC Canada.
GMD - Gohn Metabolone Database The Golm Metabolome Database (GMD) facilitates the search for and dissemination of reference mass spectra from biologically active metabolites quantified using gas chromatography (GC) coupled to mass spectrometry (MS). GC/MS profiling studies aiming at the identification of compounds from complex biological mixtures depend on the comparison of observed mass spectra and retention times with reference libraries such as the GMD. The GMD comprises mass spectra and retention time indices of pure reference substances and frequently observed mass spectral tags (MST: mass spectrum linked to chromatographic retention) of yet unidentified metabolites.
Mathematics & Statistics Open Select
Taylor & Francis Online
NASA: National Aeronautics and Space Administration PubSpace PubMed Central (PMC) is a full-text, online archive of journal literature operated by the National Library of Medicine. NASA is using PMC to permanently preserve and provide easy public access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research.
Open Science Directory Contains about 13,000 scientific journals, with another 7,000 special programs titles.
OSTI - Office of Science and Technical Information U.S. Department of Energy. The Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) is the Department of Energy (DOE) office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored research and development (R&D) results that are the outcomes of R&D projects or other funded activities at DOE labs and facilities nationwide and grantees at universities and other institutions. The information is typically in the form of technical documents, conference papers, articles, multimedia, and software, collectively referred to as scientific and technical information (STI).
PubChem U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, Heath and Human Services.
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online SciELO is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in developing countries originally from Brazil. It contains 985 scientific journals from different countries in free and universal access, full-text format.
Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
Science Direct
ScienceOpen
Scientilion )perating and used in over 20 countries worldwide. A search engine with a difference, Scientilion was built with a commitment to aid scientific research through an easier and faster interface. Within a short while Scientillion turned into a popular research search engine providing holistic academic and scientific content in all arenas of work. Our main focus is on quantitative science
SciTech Connect
Semantic Scholar - Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence singular focus of conducting high-impact research and engineering in the field of artificial intelligence, all for the common good. AI2 is the creation of Paul Allen, Microsoft co-founder, and is led by Dr. Oren Etzioni, a world-renowned researcher and professor in the field of AI and computer science.
WorldWideScience.org Global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
Model UN: UNA-USA's Resource Links
OAPEN: Open Access Publishing in European Networks The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
SSRN (Social Sciences Resource Network)
U.S. Department of State, Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
The Women's Library @ LSE Primary sources. London School of Economics