Skip to Main Content

Medieval History - "The Middle Ages": Feudal Japan

Research Tutorial

Link to the video

Databases

Ancient History Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
The term shogun appeared in various titles given to military commanders commissioned for the imperial government’s 8th- and 9th-century.

Books

Books on this topic can be found in library catalogue for Japanese history 952.

Social System in Feudal Japan

ART BY AYA FRANCISCO

TOMOE GOZEN: BADASS WOMEN IN JAPANESE HISTORY
Costume History in Japan
detailed pictures about the traditional costumes of people
Women & Women's Communities in Ancient Japan
Archived Website, uses with discretion
Geisha
The first geisha were men, but woman soon dominated the profession

The Four-Tiered Class System of Feudal Japan
from Thought Co.
Daily Life in Medieval Japan
World History Encyclopedia
Feudalism in Medieval Japan
Costume Museum - Costume History in Japan

Emperor of Japan
World History Encyclopedia

Shogun
World History Encyclopedia
Shogun
PBS

Daimyo
PBS
Daimyo
Japan: The Shaping of Daimyo Culture, 1185–1868
Ebook

Samurai
World History Encyclopedia
Samurai and Bushido
History.com
Samurai
The MET
Samurai
Japan-guide.com
Culture of the Samurai
Google Art and Culture

Farmer
PBS

Merchant
PBS
Class and Contradiction: Merchants and Expression of Wealth in the Tokugawa Period
Merchants and Society in Tokugawa Japan
JSTOR Journal Article

Burakumin
University of Pittsburgh
Not Even Human: The Birth of the Outcaste in Tokugawa Japan
Academic paper
Burakumin (Buraku people)
World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples

Suggested Websites

Imaging Japanese History
By Colorado.edu.
Wide range of teaching resources.
Medieval Japan: An Introductory Essay
by Ethan Segal, Michigan State University
Timeline of Japan
Medieval Japan: An Introductory Essay
by Ethan Segal, Michigan State University

Religions

Retrieved from https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2056.html

The Shinto Religion
Scroll down to see more articles and names of gods of Shinto religion
Shinto
Japan-Guide.com
Japanese Religion and Spirituality
Hachiman (The Ancient god)
Kami (shinto Religion)
Shinto (Video)
Khan Academy
Buddhism in Japan
Asia Society
Buddhism in Ancient Japan
World History Encyclopedia
Buddhism in Japan
Khan Academy

Art

National Museum of Asian Art
Search keywords like "Shogun"
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2024 9:47 AM
URL: https://concordian-thailand.libguides.com/medieval
Print Page

Subjects: Arts, English, Global Studies, History, Humanities, Literature, Sciences

Tags: black death, bubonic plague, crusades, medieval, middle ages, plague