LibGuides: Environmental Systems & Societies: Global Climate Change

Credo Reference: Environmental Science

Databases to Use for These Topics

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated November 2020)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

Explore these Databases!

Core Concepts: Biology This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Earth & Space Science This link opens in a new window
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. This free research database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 806,000 records and open access full text for more than 12,000 records.Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management."
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
Great for images!
Full archives
Ebooks
Streaming films
Unlimited articles
Science Journal This link opens in a new window Subscription to current and archives issues of: Science Science Advances Science Immunology Science Robotics Science Signaling Science Translational Medicine
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
BrainPop This link opens in a new window

How Students Can Help Fight Climate Change

Infographic by REC Solar"

Global Climate Change

Check NASA's Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet for up-to-date comprehensive information

Inside Climate News
Pulitzer Prize-winning, nonpartisan reporting on the biggest crisis facing our planet.
Climate Change
Easy Science for Kids

Climate Change
The World Bank
Climate Change
United Nations Environment Programme
Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet: Facts
NASA
Climate Hot Map: Global Warming Effects Around the World
Union of Concerned Scientists. Explore Impacts & Find Solutions
Climate Kids: NASA's Eyes on the Earth
Grades 4 - 7
Climate Literacy: The Essential Principles of Climate Sciences
Global Warming 101
National Resources Defense Council
Global Warming: Union of Concerned Scientists
How Did a Virus From the Atlantic Infect Mammals in the Pacific?
NY Times. Nov 9 2019
How is Sea Level Rise Related to Climate Change?
NOAA

How Students Can Help Fight Climate Change
Infographic

What Does it Mean to be Human?
Climate effects on human evolution. Smithsonian Magazine.
The World's Worst Offenders For Plastic Pollution
Statista

Quiz Yourself and Q&As

QUIZ

How Much Do You Know About Solving Global Warming?

A new book presents 100 potential solutions. Can you figure out which ones are top ranked?

Take the Quiz

Climate Change Is Complex. We’ve Got Answers to Your Questions.

We know. Global warming is daunting. So here’s a place to start: 17 often-asked questions with some straightforward answers.

Explore the Questions and Answers

The Link Between Climate Change, Health and Poverty

Skeptical Science

Skeptical Science
Reports are evidence based through the use of credible scientific sourcing.

Key Question: World Water Crisis

What steps should be taken to help provide access to clean water for more people in the world? (World Geography)

Sustainability

Asia Pacific Energy Portal
Data
Compare
Policy
Profile
Inframap
The Ecosystem and How it Relates to Sustainability
U Michigan
Energy Resources
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory · Earth and Environmental Sciences, U.S. Department of Energy
Global Connections . Natural Resources | The Middle East PBS. What role have natural resources played in the politics and economy of the Middle East?
NOVA: The World in Balance
Human population growth and issues.
Sustainability
US Environmental Protection Agency. Learn the Issues; Science & Technology; Laws & Regulation (US)
Sustainability - Open Access Journal
Sustainability (ISSN 2071-1050; CODEN: SUSTDE) is an international, cross-disciplinary, scholarly and open access journal of environmental, cultural, economic, and social sustainability of human beings. Sustainability provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development, and is published monthly online by MDPI (Molecular Diversity Preservation International)
United Nations Environment Programme
United Nations STDs: Sustainable Development Goals
17 STDs