LibGuides: Child Labor and Children's Rights: Home

Search our Library

Start your search with our Library collection, use the keywords below to help you with a successful search in the different library resources including books, databases, magazines and in the world wide web.

Child labor
Child labor laws
Child welfare
Children's rights
Child exploitation
Youth employment
Child slavery

Books and other resources from our Library collection

News and Current Events

In searching for news about the topic, you may opt to limit your searches by geographical location, gender, industry, etc. Indicate your specific search term for a better result. eg "child labor in Thailand" ; "child labor and girls" ; "child labor in factories"

Bangkok Post
Daily newspaper

National Geographic This link opens in a new window
Full archives
Ebooks
Streaming films
Unlimited articles
New York Times This link opens in a new window

Child Labor Around the World

Facts about child labor
International Labor Organization
Child labor statistics
International Labor Organization
Labour statistics
International Labor Organization

Global Estimates of Child Labour 2012-2016
International Labor Organization

Useful Databases

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated March 2019)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.

Find relevant information using these databases. Whether you are searching for background information or specific data about the issue, these will be a good start for your research.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window Free resource.The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a fantastic place to begin your research! Best for grades 6-12, this site has mind maps, reference articles, and connecting information to help you out.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Journals, primary sources, and books
Set up your own account. See the librarian!
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.

Organizations Advocating for Children's Rights

Unicef UNICEF works in over 190 countries and territories to save children’s lives, to defend their rights, and to help them fulfil their potential, from early childhood through adolescence. And we never give up. (From their website)
ILO International Labor Organization The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
UNESCO United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization UNESCO is the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. It seeks to build peace through international cooperation in Education, the Sciences and Culture. UNESCO's programmes contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals defined in Agenda 2030, adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2015.
Amnesty International Through our detailed research and determined campaigning, we help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. We bring torturers to justice. Change oppressive laws. And free people jailed just for voicing their opinion. (From their website)
Human Rights Watch