In your works cited list, abbreviate months as follows:
January = Jan.
February = Feb.
March = Mar.
April = Apr.
May = May
June = June
July = July
August = Aug.
September = Sept.
October = Oct.
November = Nov.
December = Dec.
Spell out months fully in the body of your paper.
|
Work Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number, Publisher Name, Year of Publication, pp. First Page - Last Page. Example: Colman, Andrew M. “Eye Movement.” A Dictionary of Psychology, 4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2015, pp. 267–268. |
|
In-Text Citation: (Last Name Page Number) Example: Colman |
|
Work Cited: "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number, Publisher Name, Year of Publication, pp. First Page - Last Page. Example: "Change blindness." APA Dictionary of Psychology. Edited by Gary R. VandenBos, Vandenbos, 2nd ed., American Psychological Association, 2015. pp.174-175. |
|
In-Text Citation: ("Shortened Title of Entry" Page Number) Example: ("Change blindness" 174) |
|
Work Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number if more than one volume, Publisher Name, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page. Name of Database. https://doi.org/DOI if there is one Example: Stowe, Steven M. "Health and Disease." Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, edited by Paul Finkelman, Gale, 1st edition, 2000. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/galeus/health_and_disease/0?institutionId=8702. Accessed 16 Dec. 2021. |
|
In-Text Citation: (Author's Last Name) Example: (Stowe) |
|
Work Cited: "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number, Publisher Name, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page. Name of Database. https://doi.org/DOI if there is one. Example: "Racism." Britannica Academic, 2013. Encyclopædia Britannica. Note: This example had no editor's name, edition, volume or page numbers, so these elements were left out of the citation. |
|
In-Text Citation: ("Shortened Title of Entry") Example: ("Racism") Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation. |
If there are two authors, cite the the authors as follows (list authors in the order they are given on the page, not alphabetically):
Last Name, First Name of First Author, and First Name Last Name of Second Author.
Example: Smith, James, and Sarah Johnston
If there are three or more authors, cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name followed by a comma et al.
Example: Smith, James, et al.