Skip to Main Content

Ancient Civilizations: Ancient China

Library resources for ancient civilization inquiry

Credo Reference: Ancient History

Databases to Use

Username & Password

Concordian Database Passwords (Updated September 2024)
Please login to your Concordian email account to access to the Google Document.
Ancient History Encyclopedia

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Elementary, Middle, and High School Level Encyclopedia, Videos, Websites
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window

China: Ancient History & Culture Web Resources

Accomplishments of the Ancient Chinese
ThoughtCo
Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Ancient China
British Museum
Ancient Chinese Architecture
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Ancient Chinese Calligraphy
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Ancient Japanese & Chinese Relations
Ancient History Encyclopedia
China’s “Golden Age”: The Song, the Mongols, and the Ming Voyages
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Chinese Literature
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Civil Service Examinations of Imperial China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Daily Life in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Dogs in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Emergence of Modern China
U of Maryland. Through the Opium War (1842)
Foot-Binding
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Great Wall of China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
History Timeline
U of Maryland. Click the links for more information.
In Pictures: China's New Terracotta Warriors
BBC
Key Points in the Development of East Asia
Columbia University
Overview of the History and Civilization of Ancient China
TimeMaps
Primary Source Documents
Asia for Educators
Tea in Ancient China & Japan
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Emperor Qin's Tomb
National Geographic
Warfare in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Warring States Period
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Women in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia

Chinese Dynasties

Annotated Chronological Outline of Chinese History
Timeline of Chinese History and Dynasties
Columbia University
List of Rulers of China
The Met. Heinlbrunn Timeline of Art History
Ancient Dynasties
U of Maryland
Xia Dynasty - 2070-1600 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Shang Dynasty - 1600-1046 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Shang Dynasty 商 (17th-11th cent. BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Zhou Dynasty 周 (11th cent.-221 BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Zhou Dynasty - 1046-256 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Zhou Dynasty, Confucius, and China’s Philosophic Traditions
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Qin Dynasty 秦 (221-206 BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Qin Dynasty - 221-206 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Qin and the Han
Columbia U. The Early Chinese Empire
The Imperial Eras
U of Maryland
Han Dynasty - 206 BCE-220 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Timeline of China's "Period of Disunity," 220-589 CE
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Sui Dynasty - 581-618 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Tang Dynasty - 618-907 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Tang Empire (618-907)
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Song Dynasty - 960 to 1279 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Yuan Dynasty - 1271 to 1368 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Mongol Empire
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Genghis Khan
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Kublai Khan
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Ming Dynasty - 1368 to 1644 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Ming (1368-1644) and the Qing (1644-1912)
Columbia U

Videos to Watch

China - Religion & Philosophy

3,000 Ancient Buddhas
National Geographic
100 Schools of Thought
Exploring Chinese History - Culture - Philosophy
Ancient Chinese Philosophy
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Basics of Buddhism
PBS
Confucius (551—479 B.C.E.)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Confucius Quotes
Quotations Page
Laozi (Lao-tzu, fl. 6th cn. B.C.E.)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Laozi
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Legalism
Exploring Chinese History - Culture - Philosophy
Legalism in Ancient China
Ancient Standard
Sun-Tzu
Ancient History Encyclopedia