Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MYP English Subject Guide: MLA 8 In-text Citations, Works Cited, EasyBib

Closely related to the unit that you are studying

In-text Citations

To paraphrase: you must put an idea into your own words and indicate your source using in-text citation.

To summarize: you write a short description with less detail than if you were paraphrasing. You must also cite your source and use an in-text citation.

To analyze: you examine and evaluate the elements that make up a written work and explain why it is effective or not.

Works Cited Page

Work Cited: Name of Corporation//Group/Organization. "Title of Section." Title of Website, Publisher or Sponsoring Organization, Date of publication or last modified date, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

Example: The Foundation for Critical Thinking. “Defining Critical Thinking.” Criticalthinking.org, 2017, www.criticalthinking.org/pages/defining-critical-thinking/766. Accessed 10 Dec. 2021.

In-Text Citation:    ("Title of Section") 

Example:   ("Foundation of Critical Thinking")

 

If there are two authors, cite the the authors as follows (list authors in the order they are given on the page, not alphabetically):

Last Name, First Name of First Author, and First Name Last Name of Second Author.

Example: Smith, James, and Sarah Johnston.

 

If there are three or more authors, cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name Middle Name followed by a comma et al.

Example: Smith, James, et al.

Note: The date and time the article was last modified appears at the bottom of each Wikipedia article.

Keep in mind that Wikipedia may not be considered an acceptable source for a college or university assignment. Be sure to evaluate the content carefully and check with your instructor if you can use it as a source in your assignmen

Work Cited: "Title of Entry." Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, Wikimedia Foundation, Day Month Year entry was last modified, Time entry was last modified, URL of entry. Accessed Day Month Year Wikipedia entry was last viewed.

Example: “Health Care." Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 17 May 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Healthcare. Accessed 13 Dec. 2021.

In-Text Citation:  ("Title of Entry")

Example:   ("Health Care")

 

 

Work Cited: Last Name, First Name of First Author, et al. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. 

Note: If you have three or more authors list only the first author's name followed by et al. instead of listing all authors names. For example Smith, John, et al. The first author is the first name listed on the work you are citing, not the first name alphabetically.

Example: Kuhlthau, Carol Collier et al. Guided Inquiry Design : A Framework for Inquiry in Your School. Libraries Unlimited, 2012.

In-Text Citation: (First Author's Last Name et al. Page Number)

Example: (Kuhlthau et al. 23)

Work Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. Name of Library Database. 

Example: Waldau, Paul. Animal Rights: What Everyone Needs To Know. Oxford University Press, 2010. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). 

In-Text Citation:  (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Waldau 23)

 

Work Cited: Last Name of editor, First Name, editor(s). Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of Publication.

Example: Tokuhama-Espinosa, Tracey, editor. The Multilingual Mind : Issues Discussed by for and about People Living with Many Languages. Praeger, 2003.

In-Text Citation:  (Last name page number)

Example: (Tokuhama-Espinosa 23)

 

Work Cited: Name of Corporate Author. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of Publication.

Note: When a work is published by an organization that is also its author, begin the entry with the title, skipping the author element, and list the organization only as publisher.

ExampleThe Modern Language Association of America. MLA Handbook. 8th ed.,The Modern Language Association of America,2016.

In-Text Citation:  (Name of Corporate Author Page Number)

Example: (The Modern Language Association of America 23)

Works Cited: Last Name, First Name of video creator or Username of Creator. "Title of Video." Title of the Hosting Website, Day Month Year of Publication, URL of video. Accessed Day Month Year video was viewed.

Example: Sethi, Ramit. "How to Write a Winning Resume, With Ramit Sethi."YouTube, 23 June 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0fjkKCsM1w. Accessed 28 June 2016.

Intext Citation:  (Last Name of Video Creator)

Example:  (Sethi)

 Note: Because videos do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.

UNKNOWN AUTHOR

Works Cited: "Title of Video." Title of the Hosting Website, uploaded by, Day Month Year of Publication, URL of video. Accessed Day Month Year video was viewed.

Example: "My Child is a Monkey." YouTube, uploaded by Barcroft TV, 14 Oct. 2014, www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTY9pWETrhA&t=571s. Accessed 28 Aug. 2017.

Intext Citation: ("Title of Video")

Example: ("My Child is a Monkey")

Note: Because videos do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, this information is left out of in-text citation.

Works Cited: Title of Movie. Director's Name. Performers Names. Production Company, Year of Release. 

Example: The Usual Suspects. Directed by Bryan Singer. Performances by Kevin Spacey, Gabriel Byrne, Chazz Palminteri, Stephen Baldwin, and Benicio Del Toro. Polygram, 1995. 

Note: If you are writing about a film or television series without focusing on an individual's contribution, begin with the title.                                          You can include information about the director and other key participants in the position of other contributors.

Note: Exclude the list of performers if not relevant such as when you would cite a documentary. 

Intext Citation:     (Title of Movie)

Example: (The Usual Suspects)

Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example.

Note: Because DVD's do not have page numbers this information is left out of the in-text citation

Work Cited:  "Title of Episode."Title of TV Series, Contributors Name(s), season, episode, Production Company, Year of Release. Name of Streaming Website. URL.

Example: "I, Borg."Star  Trek: The next Generation, season 5, episode 23, Paramount Pictures,1992. Netflix. www.netflix.com.

In-Text Citation: 

Example: (“I, Borg” 00:23:13)

 

Work Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number if more than one volume, Publisher Name, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page. Name of Database. https://doi.org/DOI if there is one

Example:   Stowe, Steven M. "Health and Disease." Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, edited by PauFinkelman, Gale, 1st edition, 2000. Credo Referencehttps://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/galeus/health_and_disease/0?institutionId=8702. Accessed 16 Dec. 2021.

In-Text Citation: (Author's Last Name)

Example: (Stowe)

Work Cited:  "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number, Publisher Name, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page. Name of Database. https://doi.org/DOI if there is one.

Example:  "Racism." Britannica Academic, 2013. Encyclopædia Britannica. 

Note: This example had no editor's name, edition, volume or page numbers, so these elements were left out of the citation.

In-Text Citation: ("Shortened Title of Entry")

Example:      ("Racism")

Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.

 

Work Cited:  "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. Volume Number, Publisher Name, Year of Publication, pp. First Page - Last Page.

Example: "Change blindness." APA Dictionary of Psychology. Edited by Gary R. VandenBos, Vandenbos, 2nd ed., American Psychological Association, 2015. pp.174-175. 

In-Text Citation: ("Shortened Title of Entry" Page Number)

 Example: ("Change blindness" 174)

 

Works Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number if Given, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

 Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format. 

Example: Sadig, Husam, and Ahmed Banany. "The Impact of Non-Response Weighting: Empirical Evidence From Modelling Residential Mobility."Journal of Social Research & Policy, vol. 5, no. 1, July 2014, pp. 91-99, www.jsrp.ro/site/jrspone/content/JSRP_Vol5_Iss1_Sadig. Accessed 27 Jun. 2016.

 Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. Both month and year were provided for this journal.

Intext Citation:   (First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Sadig and Banany 91)

 

Work Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name or Username if real name not provided. "Title of Blog Post." Name of Blog, Blog Network/Publisher if given, Day Month Year of blog post, URL of blog post. Accessed Day Month Year blog was visited.

Example:   Purton, Rachel. “Juicer vs Blender: Which One Is Better?" The Art of Healthy Living, 12 Dec. 2021, artofhealthyliving.com/juicer-vs-blender-which-one-is-better/.

In-Text Citation:  (Author's Last Name)

Example: (Purton)

 Note: Blog posts have no page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings so this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Work Cited: Author Last Name, First Name or Account Name. Description of Post. Facebook, Day Month Year of Post, Time of Post, URL. Accessed Day Month Year post was viewed.

Note: As Facebook posts can be lengthy, describe the post instead of reposting its content. To find the time of a Facebook post, hover your mouse next to the date of the post over the clock icon. It may not be possible to link directly to the specific post itself.

Example:  Herbs, Health and Happiness. How to Make an Amazing Home Herbal Remedy KitHerbs, Facebook13 Dec. 2021, www.facebook.com/468118629901734/photos/a.475661129147484/4647162721997283/.

In-Text Citation: (Author's Last Name or Account Name)

Example:  (Herbs, Health and Happiness)

Work Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name or Username if real name not provided. "Title of Blog Post." Name of Blog, Blog Network/Publisher if given, Day Month Year of blog post, URL of blog post. Accessed Day Month Year blog was visited.

Example:   Purton, Rachel. “Juicer vs Blender: Which One Is Better?" The Art of Healthy Living, 12 Dec. 2021, artofhealthyliving.com/juicer-vs-blender-which-one-is-better/.

In-Text Citation:  (Author's Last Name)

Example: (Purton)

 Note: Blog posts have no page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings so this information is left out of the in-text citation.

paste here 5

Works Cited:   Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Website, Date of Publication, URL. 

Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.

Example: Hoekstra, Gordon. "Historic Opportunity to Push Forward Rights and Recognition: Assembly of First Nations." Vancouver Sun, 24 July 2018, vancouversun.com/news/local-news/historic-opportunity-to-push-forward-rights-and-recognition-assembly-of-first-nations.

Intext Citation:    (Author's Last Name)

Example:            (Hoekstra)

 

Works Cited: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. Page Numbers. Name of Database. 

Example: Weinstein, Becca. "Trying Before Buying." Psychology Today, vol. 45, no. 3, May-June 2012, pp. 46-47. CINAHL Complete. 

Intext Citation:  (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Weinstein 46)

 

Notes from the IB

RE: On Translation and Language

It is certainly permissible to use sources which are not in the language of the essay, but translation into the target language is required, one cannot assume that the reader understands the original language.

For the Bibliography/Works cited, my preference would be to list the source in its original Thai version, but with the English in brackets, to help the reader.

Your bibliography will have the entries in Thai characters first in the document. Any in-text citation to Thai sources will be in (Thai characters [English translation]).

Ex:

Citation in Thai [English translation]

Works Cited Example:

วงษ์ปัญญา, ธนกร [Wongpunya, Thanakorn]. “โรงงานยาสูบรวยแค่ไหน และเอาเงินไปทำอะไรบ้าง.”  [How rich is the Thailand Tobacco Monopoly and where does the money go?] (candidate translation). The Standard, The Standard, 30 Aug. 2018, thestandard.co/thailand-tobacco-monopoly/.

MLA 101

Job Searching – Graduate School

MLA style was created by the Modern Language Association of America. It is a set of rules for publications, including research papers.

There are two parts to MLA: In-text citations and the Works Cited list.

In MLA, you must "cite" sources that you have paraphrased, quoted or otherwise used to write your research paper. Cite your sources in two places:

  1. In the body of your paper where you add a brief in-text citation.
  2. In the Works Cited list at the end of your paper where you give more complete information for the source.

 

Access Date: The date you first look at a source. The access date is added to the end of citations for all websites except library databases.

Citation: Details about one cited source.

Citing: The process of acknowledging the sources of your information and ideas.

In-Text Citation: A brief note at the point where information is used from a source to indicate where the information came from. An in-text citation should always match more detailed information that is available in the Works Cited List.

Paraphrasing: Taking information that you have read and putting it into your own words.

Plagiarism: Taking, using, and passing off as your own, the ideas or words of another.

Quoting: The copying of words of text originally published elsewhere. Direct quotations generally appear in quotation marks and end with a citation.

Works Cited List: Contains details on ALL the sources cited in a text or essay, and supports your research and/or premise.

Each entry in the list of works cited is composed of facts common to most works — the MLA core elements.

They are assembled in a specific order.

Credit Box

This LibGuide was created by librarians from

Concordian International School, Bangkok

The content is shared under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial license.