LibGuides: MYP English Subject Guide: Unit 2 Eat to Live, or Live to Eat?

Introduction on food and nutrition

Food and agriculture data
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
What the world eat
Daily diets vary considerably around the world.
Food-based dietary guidelines
FAO dietary guidelines, sorted by countries.
World Health Organization: Healthy Diet
Works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable.

Introduction to the diets around the world
From the Open Textbook "An Introduction to Nutrition"
BBC Food around the world
Find basic information and small number of recipes for each region.
All Recipes: World Cuisine
Includes recipes from Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and more.
Epicurious
Thousands of recipes from Gourmet, Bon Appetit, Self, cookbooks, chefs, and home cooks; includes food and wine dictionaries

Food Network
Recipes, videos, healthy eating advice, party ideas and cooking techniques from top chefs, shows, and experts

Gernot Katzer’s Spice
Includes photographs, sensory qualities, origins, etymology, uses, and links to other resources. Also covers spice blends.
Iowa State's Agricultural Marketing Resource Center (North America)
Provides background information and website links for a full-range of commodities in the areas of fruits, grains, livestock, nuts and vegetables.
The Food Timeline
Provides history of foods, using a variety of references.
The Cook's Thesaurus
The Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions.